Reading List

I'm starting to love reading books especially fictions as they are an escape from reality. 

Paper Towns - John Green
Quentin has always loved Margo Roth Spiegelman, for Margo (and her adventures) are the stuff of legend at their high school. So when she one day climbs through his window and summons him on an all-night road trip of revenge he cannot help but follow. But the next day Margo doesn't come to school and a week later she is still missing. Q soon learns that there are clues in her disappearance ...and they are for him. But as he gets deeper into the mystery - culminating in another awesome road trip across America - he becomes less sure of who and what he is looking for. Masterfully written by John Green, this is a thoughtful, insightful and hilarious coming-of-age story
I've been wanting to read it as it is said that John Green books get repetitive and I would like to read it to see whether is any proof within the statement. 

Perks of Being a Wallflower - Stephan Chbosky
Charlie is a freshman. And while he's not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can't stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.
Seeing as I've watched the movie I think it's time that I read the book as I enjoyed it so much. The story is empowering and I really feel for Charlie as he is misunderstood by peers of his age. The book must be better than the movie. 

Diary of a Young Girl - Anne Frank
The author and her family fled the horrors of Nazi occupation by hiding in the back of a warehouse in Amsterdam for two years with another family and a German dentist. Aged thirteen when she went into the secret annexe, she kept a diary.




The books seems so inspiring and is sure to educate me about the traumatic life she led. 

Thirteen Reasons Why - Jay Asher
"Thirteen Reasons Why" by Jay Asher is a phenomenal "New York Times" number one bestseller. It tackles the aftermath of teen suicide from the critically acclaimed young adult author Jay Asher - perfect for fans of John Green's "The Fault in Our Stars". You can't stop the future. You can't rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret ...is to press play. Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker - his classmate and first love - who committed suicide. Hannah's voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself and Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why. All through the night, Clay keeps listening - and what he discovers changes his life ...Forever. Bestselling US author Jay Asher had the idea for his debut young adult novel "Thirteen Reasons Why" at a museum. Whilst taking an audio tour, he was struck by the eeriness of the voice in his ear - a woman who described everything he was looking at but wasn't there.

When I read this I am sure I won't be able to put it down. The storyline is really intriguing and makes me begin to wonder what drove this girl to suicide.

Truly, Madly, Deadly - Hannah Jayne
When Sawyer’s boyfriend, Kevin, dies in a drunk driving accident, Sawyer is stunned. But that is nothing compared to her distress when she finds a note in her locker that reads, “You’re welcome.” Is it possible that someone else knew about Kevin’s violent tendencies? Who would be so desperate to protect Sawyer? In TRULY, MADLY, DEADLY, author Hannah Jayne weaves a web of suspects, clues and red herrings that will keep readers guessing until the end.
I think out of the books on my reading list this is a more teen content book. The book seems to be full of enigma which would drive the reader to stay interested in the storyline. The note on the locker sends chills down my spine.

BLOGLOVIN // GFC // TWITTER // INSTAGRAM











Comments

  1. I love Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I think is much better than the movie. And I also love Diary of a Young Girl, you must read it at least one time :)

    Love,Sara Wallflower

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Books are always better than the movies, I will have to read it indeed!xo

      Delete
  2. I have read Perks of Being a Wallflower. Also I have watched the movie. Both are amazing.
    I really need to read Paper Towns. I have read The Fault In Our Stars. Though I heard the stories are similar.

    Mary x

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. John Green is obviously not a literature genius, I cannot wait to finally start reading the perks of being a wallflower. :) xo

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts